Stanley Gibbons Our Auctions

You can continue to take advantage of our expertise; Bid and Sell through our SGA Auctions and browse our now extended retail stock, backed by a Stanley Gibbons Lifetime Guarantee.

More Info
Down Arrow Icon
History Timeline Image

The History

Murray Payne was formed in 1990 dealing in all aspects of British Commonwealth philately but specialising in King George VI. Co-founder Dickon Pollard was a collector from the age of 7, following in the footsteps of his father and grandfather. After leaving York University in 1976 with a degree in English & Related Literature, he set up the Turks & Caicos Islands Philatelic Bureau before coming back to the UK and commencing a career in 'real stamps'. From 1982 onwards he became a specialist in King George VI philately.

In 1990 he was involved in setting up Murray Payne and has been with the company since then, continuing to specialise in KG VI but branching out into other specialised British Commonwealth areas. Joined by Iain Murphy in 2003, Murray Payne has dispersed major collections such as those of Ivor Little, Dave Boakes and Colin Wenborn. Murray Payne became part of the Stanley Gibbons Group in 2013.

Future Eye Image

The Future

Murray Payne and Stanley Gibbons Auctions merged in early 2018 to allow both teams to work with better synergy, take advantage of each brand's respected experts and to be able to extend our business to a wider audience. Commonwealth items are now handled by the same Stanley Gibbons experts that have become synonymous with the brand. Iain Murphy is now the Head of Stanley Gibbons Auctions and Dickon Pollard continues to serve us with his philatelic expertise. Dickon is an active describer and philatelic consultant working across both the Auction Team and Commonwealth Team.